Thinking about tying the knot in the near future? Have you looked into the marriage license requirements yet?
Well, you are in the right place, because below you will find out what you need to do to be officially married in the great state of Texas.
Since July will be the first National HIV Awareness month, we'll start by addressing blood tests. There are actually only 4 states that require a blood test, and Texas is not one of them. However, you will be given information about HIV/AIDS when you apply for your license. Also, it is probably a good idea to get an HIV test no matter if you are getting married or not.
The state also recommends that a couple take an eight hour premarital education course. This recommendation is written into law, but is not required.
Now for the requirements. It is required that you and your future spouse not be related in any way. Not even a stepparent or former stepparent, adopted niece or nephew, or half blood relationships will be allowed.
Also, you cannot be currently married to someone else, or divorced within the last 30 days. Further, you must be over 18 and prove your age to the county clerk, or be over 16 and have permission from your parent or guardian.
Once you are sure you've met all the requirements, you are ready to get your license. It is easiest to go to the clerk together. Otherwise, you will need to fill out an affidavit explaining why the other person cannot show up and that they give their consent to be married.
Now that you have your license, you have to wait 72 hours before getting married. Don't wait too long though, because your license will expire after 30 days.
Good luck to you and your special someone. Hopefully you will have no trouble with the marriage license requirements and you will live together happily ever after.
- Find a Houston Family Lawyer (FindLaw)
- Learn About the Marriage Age In Texas (Houston Family Law Blog)
- Cohabitation Agreements Becoming More Common For Non-Married Couples (Houston Family Law Blog)