The state of Texas has some basic legal requirements, but fortunately they're pretty simple compared to other states. Legal Aid of Northwest Texas states that a the marital relationship can be established between only a man and a woman by a formal ceremony or by common law. If you have any questions about the legal implications of marriage such as prenuptial agreements or Texas' marriage requirements, it may be best to contact a Houston family law attorney.
The ceremonial marriage is the more common type. A county clerk issues a marriage license for a couple to be wed. Yet, their are some legal requirements before a marriage license can be issued. Couples must show that they are at least 18 years old, unless they have parental consent, or an order from the court. The people getting married also cannot be currently married or have a blood relationship of first cousin or closer. A person also might not be eligible for marriage if he or she is delinquent on a child support obligation.
Once the marriage license has been issued, a man and woman must get married within 31 days, but not less than 3 days. In some states, a blood test or medical test is also required before marriage, but this is not the case in Texas. Any Judge, Justice, Justice of the Peace, Minister, Priest, Rabbi or any other authorized officer of a religious organization may perform the ceremony.
Couples can also be married by common law, as long as they meet the Texas eligibility marriage requirements. These requirements are similar to that of a ceremonial marriage. Rather than obtaining a marriage license, common law marriage allows people to get married by simply filing a Declaration of Marriage provided by the county clerk.